About the Rás


Rás Tailteann is an eight-day, international stage race around Ireland – commonly known as “The Rás”.  This is the official site of Rás Tailteann.

The race is Ireland’s number one cycling event and takes place each year in May.

This year the event will start on Sunday 20th May and finish in Skerries, Co Dublin on Sunday 27th May 2018.


For the past 7 years the Rás Tailteann was sponsored by the national postal service An Post, and although no title sponsor is currently in place the Race Director, Eimear Dignam recently confirmed that the race would proceed as normal.


“The epic race began in 1953 and has been held every year since. It is one of Ireland’s top sporting events bringing world class sporting action and a significant economic boost to towns and villages nationwide. It is a major event on the national and international calendar” said Dignam, “and it is going to happen as normal under my watch”.

The Rás has a worldwide reputation of being a gruelling challenge in the elite, International calendar. The open racing style allows amateur county and club riders to pit themselves against domestic and international professionals.

“The route is finalised and our hard working organising committee were out ironing out the last few details over the festive season.

We will be having a press release very soon to announce the route.

“Just because we don’t yet have a sponsor this won’t make the route any easier, I promise the Rás will be as tough as ever” Dignam confirmed recently.


The 2017 Winner interview:

Rás Pictures


Click here…

Past Winners


Past Rás Winners 1953 – 2015

Year Winner From
1953 Colm Christle Gate C.C.
1954 Joe O’Brien National C.C.
1955 Gene Mangan Kerry
1956 Paudie Fitzgerald Kerry
1957 Frank Ward Dublin
1958 Mick Murphy Kerry
1959 Ben McKenna Meath
1960 Paddy Flanagan Kildare
1961 Tom Finn Dublin
1962 Sé O Hanlon Dublin
1963 Zbigniew Glowaty Poland
1964 Paddy Flanagan Kildare
1965 Sé O Hanlon Dublin
1966 Sé O Hanlon Dublin
1967 Sé O Hanlon Dublin
1968 Milan Hrezdira Czech.
1969 Brian Connaughton Meath
1970 Alexander Gysiantnikov USSR
1971 Colm Nulty Meath
1972 John Mangan Setanta C.C.
1973 Mike O’Donaghue Carlow
1974 Peter Doyle I.C.F.
1975 Paddy Flanagan Kildare
1976 Fons Steuten Netherlands
1977 Yuri Lavrushkin USSR
1978 Seamus Kennedy Kerry
1979 Stephen Roche Ireland
1980 Billy Kerr Ireland
1981 Jamie McGahan Scotland
1982 Dermot Gilleran Ireland
1983 Philip Cassidy Ireland
1984 Stephen Delaney Dublin
1985 Nicola Kosiakov USSR
1986 Stephen Spratt Tipperary
1987 Paul McCormack Longford
1988 Paul McCormack Ireland
1989 Dainis Ozoles USSR
1990 Ian Chivers Ireland
1991 Kevin Kimmage Meath
1992 Stephen Spratt Dublin
1993 Eamonn Byrne Ireland
1994 Declan Lonergan Ireland
1995 Paul McQuaid Ireland
1996 Tommy Evans Derry
1997 Andrew Roche Kerry
1998 Ciarán Power Ireland
1999 Philip Cassidy Ireland
2000 Julian Winn Wales
2001 Paul Manning Britain
2002 Ciarán Power Ireland
2003 Chris Newton Britain
2004 David McCann Ireland
2005 Chris Newton Britain
2006 Christian House Britain
2007 Tony Martin Germany
2008 Stephen Gallagher Ireland
2009 Simon Richardson Britain
2010 Alex Wetterhall Sweden
2011 Gediminas Bagdonas Lithuania
2012 Nicolas Baldo France
2013 Marcin Bialoblocki Poland
2014 Clemens Fankhauser Austria
2015 Lukas Postlberger Austria
2016 Clemens Fankhauser Austria
2017 James Gullen Britain


Coming soon

Rás over the years


Scroll through images of each winner of the Rás along with pictures from various stages dating back to the very beginning.

Here you can also find details of all the towns and villages that each stage passed through as well as the competitors and their respective teams that took on the legendary race.

Rás through the 2010’s

Rás through the 2000’s

Rás through the 1990’s

Rás through the 1980’s

Rás the through 1970’s

Rás through the 1960’s

Rás through the 1950’s


Rás Stories


Every rider, stage and year has its own story to tell… read through some special stories from the Rás in years gone by.

Find out about the ‘iron man’ of Irish cycling, Jimmy Curran, read how 4 times Rás winner Shay O’Hanlon ‘rode alone’ and find out some tips on how to become a road champion from Gene Mangan, all in this section of great Rás tales.

The Gene Mangan Story

Some Tips On How To Become A Road Champion By Gene Mangan

Shay O’Hanlon Four Times Rás Winner

Paddy Flanagan Three Times Rás Winner

Meeting The Iron Man Of Irish Cycling

The Case Of The National Cycling Association

Tales From The Gutter By Greg Roche Rás 2003

J. P. Partland – How I Got Here 2001

The ‘Men Of The Ras’ 1992

Kilmessan gp organisers have just announced the race is off due to snow on the circuit.please rt to the cycling community

Boys with the black stuff. Happy #StPatricksDay from Rouleur. Photo @rastailteann by the late, great Robert Wyatt

2 months to race start!! @sticky_bottle @SSbike @irishcycling @gerardcam @brona_osullivan

2 months to race start!! ...

View on Facebook

Chuir Rás Tailteann 2018 grianghraf nua suas ...

View on Facebook